Scarlett Thomas

Scarlett Thomas

Photo Credit: Ed Thompson

SCARLETT THOMAS was born in London in 1972. Her novels include Bright Young Things, Going Out, PopCo, Seed Collectors and The End of Mr. Y, which was longlisted for the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction 2007. Her first novel for children, Dragon’s Green – the first in the thrilling Worldquake sequence, was published in 2017. She teaches at the University of Kent.

Announcing the Dragon’s Green audiobook!

We only have three rules. No chewing gum. No talking. And if you die, it’s your own fault


Scarlett Thomas

Dragon's Green cover

An extract from the audiobook of Dragon’s Green by Scarlett Thomas, the first in the thrilling and magical Worldquake Sequence. From the audiobook read by Roger Allam.

Listen now

Scarlett Thomas talks about her process for writing a Worldquake book…

Some people think opening a book is a simple thing. It’s not. Most people don’t realise that you can get truly lost in a book. You can. Especially you

Dragon's Green

Scarlett Thomas

Bright Young Things wanted for big project

Bright Young Things

Scarlett Thomas

One of the paradoxes of writing is that when you write non-fiction everyone tries to prove that it’s wrong, and when you publish fiction, everyone tries to see the truth in it

Our Tragic Universe

Scarlett Thomas

Somewhere in the world there is a magical book. What does this book do? It simply changes itself to become the book you most need at this point in your life

The Seed Collectors

Scarlett Thomas

The message had been carried through the dawn chorus and into the cold pink morning. Effie Truelove was going to die on Friday.

The Chosen Ones

Scarlett Thomas