Our Tragic Universe

Scarlett Thomas

One of the paradoxes of writing is that when you write non-fiction everyone tries to prove that it’s wrong, and when you publish fiction, everyone tries to see the truth in it
Our Tragic Universe by Scarlett Thomas (Paperback ISBN 9781847671295) book cover

Available as Paperback, eBook

The brilliant new mind-frazzling adventure from the author of the 150,000 copy-selling The End of Mr. Y

Could a story save your life?If Kelsey Newman’s theory about the end of time is true, we are all going to live forever. But who would want that?Certainly not Meg, a bright spark trapped in a hopeless relationship. But if she can work out the connection between a wild beast on Dartmoor, a ship in a bottle, the science of time and a knitting pattern for the shape of the universe, she might just find a way out.

Our Tragic Universe surprised me, and in such a terrific way. It is so addictive, you can’t help but fall deeper and deeper under Scarlett Thomas’s spell. She’s a genius”
Douglas Coupland

See more reviews

“A delight, not least for the quality of Scarlett Thomas’s writing… Full of life and energy.”
Philip Pullman

“Is it odd to describe a book as kind? The commodity itself seems an increasingly rare thing in an internet-frazzled world, and so how unexpectedly wonderful to read Scarlett Thomas’s Our Tragic Universe, a book that brims with a compassion and warmth”
Patrick Ness

“Thomas can discuss quantum physics and philosophy while making you think you’re reading a sparkling romantic comedy”
Kate Saunders
the Times

Our Tragic Universe is a huge, ambitious experiment, carried out by one of the finest minds of her generation.”
sfx Magazine

Scarlett Thomas

Scarlett Thomas was born in London in 1972. Her previous novels include Bright Young Things, Going Out, PopCo and The End of Mr. Y, which was longlisted for the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction 2007. She teaches at the University of Kent and has recently published two chidren’s novels, Dragon’s Green and The Chosen Ones, part of a trilogy that will conclude with Galloglass in 2019.