Rights & Sales

Permissions

If you are interested in quoting from a Canongate book, you might not need permission. If a use is covered by ‘fair dealing’ you are allowed to quote from a copyrighted work without the authorisation of the copyright holder. Please see the Society of Authors’ Guidance on Copyright and Permissions.

For other requests, please make a request via plsclear.com.

Please note:

  • Our turnaround time is about six weeks, but can be longer for complicated requests, or where we have to get approval from authors or estates.

  • In most cases there will be a fee due, though we try to consider the circumstances of the person or organisation making the request. Our minimum fee for use of a limited amount of material is £60 excluding VAT.

  • We are not able to issue double taxation relief forms in cases of payment from foreign bank accounts—the tax must be accounted for on the seeker’s side and the payment made in full.

Rights Team

We handle the rights for many of our books, and you can download our most recent Rights Guide and Canons Guide.

For our latest rights news, follow @CanongateRights on Twitter.

Here’s our Rights Team (and the areas they cover) if you’d like to get in touch:

Jessica Neale

Rights & Contracts Director

Australia, Canada, US, Brazil, Germany, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Turkey, UK (Audio & Large Print) and film
Jessica.Neale@canongate.co.uk

Caroline Clarke

Rights Manager

France, Greece, Poland, Scandinavia and sub-agented territories
Caroline.Clarke@canongate.co.uk

Bethany Ferguson

Rights Assistant

Permissions, artwork, general enquiries and sub-agented territories in Central and Eastern Europe
Bethany.Ferguson@canongate.co.uk

Sales team

If you need to contact any of our Sales team, their details can be found below.

Drew Hunt

Key Account Manager

Drew.Hunt@canongate.co.uk

Steph Scott

Head Of International Sales

Steph.Scott@canongate.co.uk

Joanna Lord

Head of Audio and Online

Joanna.Lord@canongate.co.uk

Nadine Luchsinger

Sales Operations Coordinator

Nadine.Luchsinger@canongate.co.uk