Scarlett Thomas

We only have three rules. No chewing gum. No talking. And if you die, it’s your own fault
Galloglass by Scarlett Thomas (eBook ISBN 9781782119340) book cover

Available as eBook, Paperback

The third in the thrilling Worldquake sequence, packed with adventuring, a magical library, Midwinter spells and missing cats. With a magical glow-in-the-dark cover


Effie Truelove and her school-friends Lexy, Wolf, Maximilian and Raven must use their magical skills to defeat the Diberi, a corrupt organisation intent on destroying the worlds at Midwinter.

But during a visit to the Otherworld, Effie is mistaken and imprisoned for being a galloglass – a dangerous, selfish islander. Meanwhile, Lexy is threatened by the vile professor Jupiter Peacock and Wolf embarks on a perilous journey to find his missing sister.

And back at school, Neptune the cat is bored. He’s used to lording it over the other stray cats, but they’ve all mysteriously vanished. Where could they be – and how will he find them?

Can Effie and her friends reunite before total destruction is wreaked upon the universe?

“PRAISE FOR THE WORLDQUAKE SEQUENCE: The most exciting debut in children’s fiction since HARRY POTTER”
Joanne Harris

See more reviews

“This tale of magical education is a cracker … has its own distinctive style”

“Otherworldly … ‘Getting lost in a book’ takes on new meaning”
mail On Sunday

“A quest to create a magical book is at the centre of this thought-provoking fantasy novel … Wonderfully bibliophilic”
financial Times

“Will whisk you off on a spectacular adventure”
the Week

Scarlett Thomas

Described by Philip Pullman as ‘ingenious and original’, Scarlett Thomas has always loved stories, magic and mysterious places. She tried (and failed) to write her first novel when she was six. Since then she has successfully written lots of novels, but this is her first series for children. She lives near the sea in an old house full of books, and is a professor in the English department of the University of Kent.

Galloglass is the third volume in the Worldquake Sequence.