The Chosen Ones

Scarlett Thomas

The message had been carried through the dawn chorus and into the cold pink morning. Effie Truelove was going to die on Friday.
The Chosen Ones by Scarlett Thomas (Hardback ISBN 9781782119302) book cover

Available as Hardback, eBook, Downloadable audio

The second in the thrilling Worldquake sequence, packed with adventure – featuring mysterious new spells, talking animals and a deadly plan to destroy the worlds! See it come to life with a magical glow-in-the-dark cover


EFFIE TRUELOVE has learned to travel through magical books to the Otherworld.
MAXIMILIAN UNDERWOOD, Effie’s classmate, is more interested in the dark and forbidden Underworld.

When Effie and Maximilian both mysteriously vanish, their friends Raven, Lexy and Wolf don’t know where to turn for help. Raven is a witch and her horse, Echo, has revealed that Effie is in deep danger and time is running out.

To make things worse, Raven’s mother, the author Laurel Wilde, is caught up in a plot with the ruthless billionaire Albion Freake, who, it seems, will stop at nothing to become invincible …

Where are Effie and Maximilian? Are their disappearances connected?
And can Albion Freake’s deadly plan be stopped?

“A quest to create a magical book is at the centre of this thought-provoking fantasy novel … Wonderfully bibliophilic”
financial Times

See more reviews

“Fascinating characters, a dramatic denouement, and an intriguing books-and-libraries subtext contribute to the success of this second book of the Worldquake series. A rich, original, and imaginative sequel for fantasy fans”
kirkus Reviews

”PRAISE FOR THE WORLDQUAKE SEQUENCE: The most exciting debut in children’s fiction since HARRY POTTER”
Joanne Harris

“An entrancing novel that stands on its prose … set in a dystopian future after a massive quake has annihilated modern technology … She is far too inventive a writer ever to let us feel we’ve been here before”
daily Telegraph

“Superb fantasy *****”
sunday Telegraph

Scarlett Thomas

Scarlett Thomas has always loved stories, magic and mysterious places. She tried (and failed) to write her first novel when she was six. Since then she has successfully written lots of novels, but this is her first series for children. She lives near the sea in an old house full of books, and is a professor in the English department of the University of Kent.

The Chosen Ones is the second volume in the Worldquake Sequence.