Homelands

The History of a Friendship

Chitra Ramaswamy

Homelands by Chitra Ramaswamy (Hardback ISBN 9781838852665) book cover

Available as Hardback, eBook, Downloadable audio

A book about history, friendship, family and what it means to belong, from the award-winning journalist and author of Expecting

This book is about two unlikely friends. One born in 1970s Britain to Indian immigrant parents, the other arrived from Nazi Germany in 1939, fleeing persecution.

This book is about common ground. It is a story of migration, anti-Semitism, racism, family, belonging, grief and resilience.

This book is about the past and the present. It is about the state we’re in now and the ways in which we carry our pasts into our futures.

This book is about homelands.


“An utterly engrossing story that spans the twentieth century, surveying otherness, family and belonging, but above all friendship. I could not stop reading this gorgeous book”
Denise Mina

See more reviews

“Achingly beautiful”
guardian

“A spellbinding story of triumph and tragedy, war and sanctuary, emigration and belonging. Fans of Sebald and De Waal are going to love this”
Gavin Francis

“Gripping … immersive”
scotsman

“A deeply reflective and moving account of a remarkable friendship that bridges a century. Homelands is at once meditative and urgent, humane and journalistic. I learned so much in these pages, and yet couldn’t stop smiling at the simple strokes: the love, the kindness, the unlikely places friendship blooms”
Dina Nayeri


Chitra Ramaswamy

Chitra Ramaswamy is an award-winning journalist and author. Her first book, Expecting: The Inner Life of Pregnancy, won the Saltire First Book of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the Polari Prize. She has contributed essays to Antlers of Water, Nasty Women, The Freedom Papers, The Bi-ble and Message from the Skies. She is a TV critic for the Guardian, the restaurant critic for The Times Scotland, a columnist for the National Trust for Scotland and broadcasts regularly for BBC Radio Scotland. She lives in Edinburgh with her partner, two young children and rescue dog.

@Chitgrrl