Jeanette Winterson

Science is a story. History is a story. These are the stories we tell ourselves to make ourselves come true.
Weight by Jeanette Winterson (Paperback ISBN 9781786892492) book cover

Available as Paperback, eBook, Downloadable audio

A strikingly original and profound slice of mythology from the award-winning author of Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit

Condemned to shoulder the world forever by the gods he dared defy, freedom seems unattainable to Atlas. But then he receives an unexpected visit from Heracles, the one man strong enough to share the burden …

Jeanette Winterson’s retelling of the myth of Atlas and Heracles asks difficult and eternal questions about the nature of choice and coercion. Visionary and inventive, Weight turns the familiar on its head to show us ourselves in a new light.

The Myths series brings together some of the world’s finest writers, each of whom has retold a myth in a contemporary and memorable way. Authors in the series include Karen Armstrong, Margaret Atwood, A.S. Byatt, David Grossman, Natsuo Kirino, Alexander McCall Smith, Philip Pullman, Ali Smith and Jeanette Winterson.

“Playful, expansive and full of heart”
the Times

See more reviews

“A touching meditation on the difficult journey to self-knowledge, and also extremely funny, communicating verve and wit”

“Profound and provocative”
daily Mail

“Inspired by a Titan, [Winterson] begins appropriately on a titanic scale … bringing her musings home to the human scale”
sunday Times

“Winterson’s embrace of the mythic landscape is evident in her rich imagery … Dazzling”
new York Times

Jeanette Winterson

Jeanette Winterson’s first novel, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, won the Whitbread Prize for Best First Novel. Since then she has published many other novels, including The Passion, Written on the Body and The PowerBook, a collection of short stories, a book of essays, and children’s picture books. She has adapted her work for TV, film and stage. Her books are published in 32 countries.