Restless Dolly Maunder

Kate Grenville

Restless Dolly Maunder by Kate Grenville (Hardback ISBN 9781805302483) book cover

Available as Hardback, eBook, Paperback

The Women’s Prize-winning and Booker-shortlisted international bestselling author returns with a fictionalised account of her grandmother’s life

Dolly Maunder is born at the end of the nineteenth century, when society’s long-locked doors are just starting to creak ajar for determined women. Growing up in a poor farming family in rural New South Wales, Dolly spends her life doggedly pushing at those doors. A husband and two children do not deter her from searching for love and independence.

Restless Dolly Maunder is a subversive, triumphant tale of a pioneering woman working her way through a world of limits and obstacles, who is able – despite the cost – to make a life she could call her own.

“A work of history, biography, story and memoir, all fused into a novel that suggests the great potential of literary art as redeemer, healer and pathway to understanding … the writing sparkles with Grenville’s gift for transcendently clear imagery”

See more reviews

“A powerful novel about a woman determined to rise above her station … A privilege to share in Grenville’s indomitable grandmother’s journey”
the Times

“Grenville … tells Dolly’s story swiftly, cleanly and compassionately, all the while refusing to let this difficult, furious woman off the hook. Excellent”
daily Mail

“Grenville astutely portrays the friction between the heroine and her daughter, who is stung by her mother’s steely reserve – perhaps because she can’t see the life story we’ve just read”
mail On Sunday, Best New Fiction

“Brings readers into intimate acquaintance with the lives of women in late 19th- and early 20th-century rural Australia … elevated by Grenville’s crystalline prose”
globe And Mail

Kate Grenville

Kate Grenville’s bestselling novel The Secret River received the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and the Miles Franklin Literary Award. The Idea of Perfection won the Women’s Prize. Grenville’s other novels include Sarah Thornhill, The Lieutenant, Lilian’s Story, Dark Places, Joan Makes History and A Room Made of Leaves.