The Spendthrift and the Swallow

Ambrose Parry

The Spendthrift and the Swallow by Ambrose Parry (eBook ISBN 9781805301820) book cover

Available as eBook, Downloadable audio

Edinburgh, 1853.
In a city where reputation is everything, it doesn’t take much to destroy a man.

When Cora Carlton, socialite and wife of a free-spending entrepreneur, dies suddenly on New Year’s Eve, the knives are out for her physician, the esteemed Dr James Young Simpson.

Determined to separate medical fact from malicious rumour, Simpson’s protégé Dr Will Raven and aspiring medical practitioner Sarah Fisher traverse the heights of society and the depths of the underworld to uncover a grisly truth.

In this digital exclusive short story, wander through the dark alleys of Victorian Edinburgh with Raven and Fisher, and read on for a sneak preview of Ambrose Parry’s new novel Voices of the Dead.

“Praise for the series: Parry’s Victorian Edinburgh comes vividly alive - and it’s a world of pain”
Val Mcdermid

See more reviews

“Brilliantly conceived, fiendishly plotted and immaculately realised, these thrillers pull off the mostdifficult double-whammy of all: beneath blood and butchery so real they almost stain the pages lieboth heart and soul… Wherever Parry takes them, I’ll follow”
Mick Herron

“A rip-roaring tale of murder amid the medical experiments of 19th-century Edinburgh. The bookbrings both city and period to colourful life and is a joy to read”
Ian Rankin

“Menacing, witty and ingeniously plotted, Ambrose Parry’s debut draws you into the dark heart ofnineteenth-century Edinburgh and won’t let you go until the final page”
S.j. Parris

Irvine Welsh

Ambrose Parry

Ambrose Parry is a pseudonym for a collaboration between Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman. The couple are married and live in Scotland. Chris Brookmyre is the international bestselling and multi-award-winning author of over twenty novels. Dr Marisa Haetzman is a consultant anaesthetist of twenty years’ experience, whose research for her Master’s degree in the History of Medicine uncovered the material upon which this series, which begun with The Way of All Flesh, is based. The Way of all Flesh was longlisted for both the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year.