The Fire People

A Collection of British Black and Asian Poetry

Edited by Lemn Sissay

The Fire People by Lemn Sissay, Lemn Sissay (Paperback ISBN 9781838855338) book cover

Available as Paperback

The seminal Black British poetry collection, edited by and featuring an introduction from the number one bestselling poet and author Lemn Sissay, with a scorching sequel, More Fiya

Winner of the Books Are My Bag Readers Award for Poetry

First published in 1998, The Fire People celebrated the rising stars of the time, many of whom have since become established names. Edited by the number one bestselling author and poet Lemn Sissay OBE, this seminal anthology takes inspiration from roots, reggae and hip-hop.

Including work from: Chris Abani, Patience Agbabi, Malika Booker, John Citizen, Salena Godden, Lorraine Griffiths, Linton Kwesi Johnson, Jackie Kay, Parm Kaur, Shamshad Khan, Cheryl Martin, Raman Mundair, Bunmi Ogunsiji, Koye Oyedeji, Mallissa Read, Vanessa Richards, Khefri Cybele Riley aka KA’frique, Roger Robinson, Joy Russell, Kadija Sesay, John Siddique, Labi Siffre, Lemn Sissay, Dorothea Smartt, Andria Smith, SuAndi, Tricky, Akure Wall, Marie Guise Williams.

“This collection forms a milestone of great significance … The Fire People marks the breaking of a new wave of British writers … the groundbreaking anthology”
the Times

See more reviews

Edited by Lemn Sissay

Lemn Sissay is a BAFTA-nominated, award-winning writer and broadcaster. He has authored collections of poetry and plays and his memoir My Name Is Why was a number one Sunday Times bestseller. His Landmark poems are visible in London, Manchester, Huddersfield and Addis Ababa. He has been made an Honorary Doctor by the universities of Manchester, Kent, Essex, Huddersfield and Brunel, and in 2019 he was awarded the PEN Pinter Prize. He received an MBE in 2010 and an OBE in 2021 for services to literature and charity. He is Chancellor of the University of Manchester. He is British and Ethiopian.

@lemnsissay |