Mr Cadmus

Peter Ackroyd

“Oh,” Barrington said, “the type that commits murder is a strong type, Mr Cadmus. A hard type. It does not delay.”
Mr Cadmus by Peter Ackroyd (Paperback ISBN 9781786898975) book cover

Available as Paperback, eBook, Downloadable audio

A darkly playful novel, filled with mystery, revenge, outlandish killings, greed and jealousy, from the multi-award-winning author

Two apparently harmless women reside in cottages one building apart in the idyllic English village of Little Camborne. Miss Finch and Miss Swallow, cousins, have put their pasts behind them and settled into conventional country life. But when a mysterious foreigner, Theodore Cadmus – from a Mediterranean island nobody has heard of – moves into the middle cottage, the safe monotony of their lives is shattered.

Soon, long-hidden secrets and long-held grudges threaten to surface, drawing all into a vortex of subterfuge, theft, violence, mayhem … and murder.

Mr Cadmus is a treat of a tale. To a “polite” English village add a sprinkling of sinister. The result? Cosy and twisted, comic and gothic, with a show-stealing parrot”
Jess Kidd

See more reviews

“Entertaining and wildly unpredictable, with a soupçon of the supernatural”
mail On Sunday

“Murderous intrigue plays out against a backdrop of curtain-twitching small-town banality in this playful black comedy”
sunday Times

“Follows the mysterious Mr Cadmus who hails from a Mediterranean island nobody has heard of and turns life in the idyllic English village of Little Camborne upside down”
the Times, Best Books To Look Out For

“Blackly comic … as the body count mounts, Ackroyd’s novel moves beyond Midsomer Murders territory and into the realm of the truly weird”
daily Mail

Peter Ackroyd

Peter Ackroyd is an award-winning author of novels including Hawksmoor, Chatterton and The Last Testament of Oscar Wilde, biographies of Ezra Pound, Blake and Dickens among others, and acclaimed non-fiction bestsellers London: The Biography and Thames: Sacred River. He has won the Whitbread Biography Award, the Royal Society of Literature’s William Heinemann Award, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the Guardian Fiction Prize, the Somerset Maugham Award and the South Bank Prize for Literature. He holds a CBE for services to literature.