Lost Woods

Rachel Carson

Lost Woods by Rachel Carson (Paperback ISBN 9781786898920) book cover

Available as Paperback, eBook

A collection of excerpts from unpublished writings and speeches by the New York Times bestselling author of the Sea trilogy and the seminal Silent Spring

‘Our origins are of the earth. And so there is in us a deeply seated response to the natural universe, which is part of our humanity.’

Rachel Carson was one of the most important environmental thinkers and writers of the twentieth century. This collection brings together previously unpublished work, essays, field journals, speeches, articles and letters to create a biography of Carson’s thought: a deeply personal picture of her evolution as an environmentalist and activist.

Lost Woods reveals a profound insight into the fragility of the natural world and our impact on it, and the birth of Carson’s lifelong campaign to bring international attention to the monumental challenges facing us. That we are finally becoming aware of the environmental emergency is thanks in no small part to her.

“Lyric, descriptive, informative and moving”
new York Times

See more reviews

”[Lost Woods] gives a new generation an opportunity to rediscover the legendary biologist and ecologist … These writings – essays, letters, magazine pieces, speeches – show us the evolution of a decent woman from scholar to warrior for all that’s right”
washington Post

“This wonderful new book allows us to discover and learn anew from the scientist who taught ecology to the world”
san Francisco Examiner And Chronicle

”Praise for the Sea trilogy: The timely reissue of a classic maritime trilogy shows that the “poet of the oceans” was far ahead of her time … What’s striking is that Carson is a keen observer of the interconnectedness of things … Her sea series is not only fascinating for those with an interest in the prehistory of Silent Spring. There is much to marvel at in these pages”

“Rachel Carson was one of the reasons why I became so conscious of the environment and so involved with environmental issues … Her picture hangs on my office wall among those of political leaders, presidents and prime ministers. It has been there for years, and it belongs there. Carson has had as much or more an effect on me than any of them, and perhaps all of them together”
Al Gore

Rachel Carson

Rachel Carson (1907–1964) was an American marine biologist. She is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sea trilogy: The Sea Around Us (winner of the National Book Award and the John Burroughs Medal), Under the Sea-Wind and The Edge of the Sea; as well as the seminal Silent Spring. Her books have been credited with advancing the global environmental movement.

In These Collections