Under the Sea-Wind

Rachel Carson

Under the Sea-Wind by Rachel Carson (Paperback ISBN 9781786899279) book cover

Available as Paperback, eBook

The second volume in Rachel Carson’s classic and New York Times bestselling Sea trilogy celebrates sea creatures in their natural habitat, introduced by Margaret Atwood

Under the Sea-Wind marks the beginnings of one of the most significant careers in nature writing. In it Rachel Carson celebrates the mystery and beauty of birds and sea creatures in their natural habitat, conjuring the atmosphere of the shore and the open sea and the delicately balanced, fragile struggle for life along the shoreline.

“The timely reissue of a classic maritime trilogy shows that the “poet of the oceans” was far ahead of her time … What’s striking is that Carson is a keen observer of the interconnectedness of things … Her sea series is not only fascinating for those with an interest in the prehistory of Silent Spring. There is much to marvel at in these pages”

See more reviews

“Rachel Carson was one of the reasons why I became so conscious of the environment and so involved with environmental issues … Her picture hangs on my office wall among those of political leaders, presidents and prime ministers. It has been there for years, and it belongs there. Carson has had as much or more an effect on me than any of them, and perhaps all of them together”
Al Gore

”Praise for the Sea trilogy: This combination of science and scintillating prose provides fascinating insights into the mysteries of the tides … a masterpiece of ecological writing”

“Rereading her natural histories, what stands out is how beautiful the writing is. Carson combined a scientist’s ability to see with a novelist’s ability to imagine”
new Yorker

“[Carson] is the poet laureate of the sea, but also of that “web of life”, in which everything is connected to everything else”
london Review Of Books

Rachel Carson

Rachel Carson (1907–1964) was an American marine biologist. She is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sea trilogy: The Sea Around Us (winner of the National Book Award and the John Burroughs Medal), Under the Sea-Wind and The Edge of the Sea; as well as the seminal Silent Spring. Her books have been credited with advancing the global environmental movement.