A Natural Curiosity

Margaret Drabble

A Natural Curiosity by Margaret Drabble (eBook ISBN 9781782114390) book cover

Available as eBook

The second in Margaret Drabble’s trilogy, following The Radiant Way

Now available for the first time in eBook.

January 1987. Alix Bowen has moved away from London and her old friends Liz and Esther to South Yorkshire. Regularly visiting a serial killer in a high-security prison, her natural curiosity in his motives and character transforms into obsession as she begins to look to the murderer for answers about human nature and herself.

Meanwhile, now in their fifties, Liz, Esther and their friends come to question the society they live in more than ever as they navigate life in eighties London.

The second in a trilogy following on from The Radiant Way, A Natural Curiosity sees Margaret Drabble return with her brilliant and dark wit in this bold, generous and incisive portrait of modern Britain.

“Absorbing and thought-provoking”
the Sunday Times

See more reviews

“A remarkable mixture of … compelling narrative, psychological insight, generous human portrayal, acute observation, humour, horror, beauty and disgust”
times Literary Supplement

“Confident and marvellously accomplished new novel”
london Review Of Books

“One of the most thought-provoking and intellectually challenging writers around”
financial Times

“One of our foremost women writers”

Margaret Drabble

Dame Margaret Drabble was born in Sheffield in 1939 and was educated at Newnham College, Cambridge. She is the author of eighteen highly acclaimed novels including The Millstone, The Peppered Moth and most recently The Pure Gold Baby. A Natural Curiosity is the second in a trilogy, preceded by The Radiant Way and followed by The Gates of Ivory. She has also written biographies, screenplays and was the editor of the Oxford Companion to English Literature. She was appointed CBE in 1980, and made DBE in the 2008 Honours list. She was also awarded the 2011 Golden PEN Award for a Lifetime’s Distinguished Service to Literature. She is married to the biographer Michael Holroyd.