Strange Loyalties

Strange Loyalties by William McIlvanney (Downloadable audio ISBN 9781786898470) book cover

Available as Downloadable audio

The godfather of Scottish crime is back with a vengeance

When his brother dies stepping out in front of a car, Detective Jack Laidlaw is determined to find out what really happened. With corrosive wit, Laidlaw relates an emotional quest through Glasgow’s underworld, and into the past. He discovers as much about himself as the loved brother he has lost in a search that leads to a shattering climax.

“Fastest, first and best, Laidlaw is the melancholy heir to Marlowe. Reads like a breathless scalpel cut through the bloody heart of a city”
Denise Mina

See more reviews

“It’s doubtful I would be a crime writer without the influence of McIlvanney’s Laidlaw. Here was a literary novelist turning his hand to the urban, contemporary crime novel and proving that the form could tackle big moral concerns and social issues”
Ian Rankin

“A crime trilogy so searing it will burn forever into your memory. McIlvanney is the original Scottish criminal mastermind”
Christopher Brookmyre

Val Mcdermid

“The Laidlaw books are not just great crime novels, they are important ones”
Mark Billingham

William McIlvanney’s first novel, Remedy is None, won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize and with Docherty he won the Whitbread Award for Fiction. Laidlaw and The Papers of Tony Veitch, the first two books in the Laidlaw trilogy, both gained Silver Daggers from the Crime Writers’ Association while the third in the series, Strange Loyalties, won the Glasgow Herald’s People’s Prize. Following his death in December 2015 the McIlvanney Prize was established; awarded to the best new Scottish crime book at Bloody Scotland, Scotland’s International Crime Writing Festival.