The Ice is Singing

Jane Rogers

The Ice is Singing by Jane Rogers (eBook ISBN 9780857869500) book cover

Available as eBook

A woman is on the run from her husband, her children, herself …

Driving through the snowbound Yorkshire countryside, stopping at anonymous hotels, Marion is prepared to do anything to escape her memories. She begins to write stories, stories that take her into other people’s lives. But as she is drawn back into her own world, she must face the things that made her long for escape.

“Terse and ruthlessly graphic: her attitude is one of implacable honesty”
times Literary Supplement

See more reviews

“The writing sings and lives and spins its own magical life”
financial Times

“A novel of tremendous readability and power from a writer of unusual talent”

Jane Rogers

Jane Rogers has written eight novels including Her living Image (Somerset Maugham Award), Mr Wroe’s Virgins (Guardian Fiction Prize runner-up), Promised Lands (Writers Guild Best Novel Award), Island (Orange long-listed), and The Voyage Home. She has written drama for radio and TV, including an award-winning adaptation of Mr Wroe’s Virgins for BBC2. Her radio work includes both original drama and Classic Serial adaptations. She has taught writing at the University of Adelaide, Paris Sorbonne IV, and on a radio-writing project in Eastern Uganda. She is Professor of Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. Jane lives on the edge of the moors in Lancashire.