Her Living Image

Jane Rogers

Her Living Image by Jane Rogers (eBook ISBN 9780857869494) book cover

Available as eBook

Winner of the Somerset Maugham Award

What happens when your husband falls in love with the woman you might have become?

Eighteen-year-old Carolyn Tanner lies in a hospital bed. Recovering from an accident, she imagines herself returning to her parents’ home, marrying her childhood sweetheart and becoming a mother. Instead, she joins a women’s cooperative and becomes a landscape architect. But as her dream and her real life entangle, she must search to find her true self.

“Jane Rogers, in Her Living Image, walks a high wire with much skill”
new Statesman

See more reviews

“Imaginative and unusual … presents feminist arguments as complex issues rather than political tracts”
times Literary Supplement

“Her mirrored plot is witty, full of sharp observation … As accomplished in execution as it is original in its conception”
Marge Piercy
author Of Woman On The Edge Of Time

Jane Rogers

Jane Rogers has written eight novels including Her living Image (Somerset Maugham Award), Mr Wroe’s Virgins (Guardian Fiction Prize runner-up), Promised Lands (Writers Guild Best Novel Award), Island (Orange long-listed), and The Voyage Home. She has written drama for radio and TV, including an award-winning adaptation of Mr Wroe’s Virgins for BBC2. Her radio work includes both original drama and Classic Serial adaptations. She has taught writing at the University of Adelaide, Paris Sorbonne IV, and on a radio-writing project in Eastern Uganda. She is Professor of Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. Jane lives on the edge of the moors in Lancashire.