Apricot Jam and Other Stories

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Apricot Jam and Other Stories by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn (Paperback ISBN 9780857863195) book cover

Available as Paperback

The last book from the Nobel Prize-winning author Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

In this stunning final work of fiction, the Nobel Prize-winning author of One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich introduces an astonishing set of characters whose day-to-day lives are transformed under the pressures of Soviet rule. These stories confirm Solzhenitsyn’s position alongside Tolstoy, Dostoyevsky and Babel as one of Russia’s greatest writers.

“Described by scholars as ranking alongside his best work … one of the publishing events of the autumn.”

See more reviews

“One of the greatest writers of his time”

“A remarkable human being, a visionary, a crusader in the simplest sense, who was steered in his writing, as in his actions, by a deep sense of justice”
daily Telegraph

“In terms of the effect he has had on history, Solzhenitsyn is the dominant writer of [the twentieth] century”
David Remnick
new Yorker

“Read these stories for a reminder of an extraordinary life, for the range of the interests they encompass and for a pugnacious moral energy that even the octogenarian writer was hard pressed to tame”

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1970, and his work continues to receive international acclaim. Through his writings, particularly The Gulag Archipelago and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich, he helped to make the world aware of the Gulag, the Soviet Union’s forced labour camp system. He was expelled from the Soviet Union in 1974 and returned to Russia in 1994. He died on 2 August 2008.

These stories have been translated by Kenneth Lanz and Stephan Solzhenitsyn.

In These Collections