An Artist of the Floating World

Kazuo Ishiguro

An Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro (Downloadable audio ISBN 9781782116103) book cover

Available as Downloadable audio

A stunning novel by one of Britain’s most prized writers.

1948. Japan is rebuilding her cities after the calamity of WWII, her people putting defeat behind them and looking to the future. The celebrated painter Masuji Ono fills his days attending to his garden, his house repairs, his two grown daughters and his grandson, and his evenings drinking with old associates in quiet lantern-lit bars. His should be a tranquil retirement. But as his memories continually return to the past - to a life and a career deeply touched by the rise of Japanese militarism - a dark shadow begins to grow over his serenity.

“A gentle, moving tragicomedy… Ishiguro gives us a vignette of a moment in cultural history which is as complete, in its own way, as Washington Square.”
london Review Of Books

See more reviews

“A work of spare elegance: refined, understated, economic.”
sunday Times

Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954 and came to Britain at the age of five. He is the author of six novels: A Pale View of Hills (1982, Winifred Holtby Prize), An Artist of the Floating World (1986, Whitbread Book of the Year Award, Premio Scanno, shortlisted for the Booker Prize), The Remains of the Day (1989, winner of the Booker Prize) and Never Let Me Go (2005, shortlisted for the Booker Prize).

Kazuo Ishiguro’s work has been translated into thirty languages. The Remains of the Day became an international bestseller, with over one million copies sold in the English language alone, and was adapted into an award-winning film starring Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson.

In 1995 Ishiguro received an OBE for services to literature, and in 1998 the French decoration of Chevalier de L’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. He lives in London with his wife and daughter.