Strange Loyalties (Laidlaw 3)

William McIlvanney

Strange Loyalties (Laidlaw 3) by William McIlvanney (Paperback ISBN 9780857869937) book cover

Available as Paperback

The godfather of Scottish crime is back with a vengeance

When his brother dies stepping out in front of a car, Detective Jack Laidlaw is determined to find out what really happened. With corrosive wit, Laidlaw relates an emotional quest through Glasgow’s underworld, and into the past. He discovers as much about himself as the loved brother he has lost in a search that leads to a shattering climax.

“The Laidlaw books are not just great crime novels, they are important ones”
Mark Billingham

See more reviews

sunday Times

“Starts on the streets and ends up in the soul”
daily Telegraph

“Fastest, first and best, Laidlaw is the melancholy heir to Marlowe. Reads like a breathless scalpel cut through the bloody heart of a city”
Denise Mina

“Told superlatively well. Laidlaw has … become even more heroically moving”
the Times

William McIlvanney

William McIlvanney’s first novel, Remedy is None, won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize and with Docherty he won the Whitbread Award for Fiction. Laidlaw and The Papers of Tony Veitch both gained Silver Daggers from the Crime Writers’ Association. Strange Loyalties, the third in the Detective Laidlaw trilogy, won the Glasgow Herald’s People’s Prize. McIlvanney died in December 2015.